Nutrition & Health FAQs

To find answers to some of your most frequently asked questions on nutrition, click on the links below.

Q: I have allergies to some ingredients. How will I know if specific NESTLÉ products will be suitable for me?
A: NESTLÉ Australia follows the Foods Standards Code when labelling our products. If there are cereals containing gluten, Crustacea, peanuts and tree nuts, fish, soy, sesame, milk egg and Sulphites greater than 10mg/kg present in a product, this will be listed in the ingredients list. Where an ingredient is derived from one of these, this will also be labelled in the ingredients.

On occasion, a product may not contain one of the allergens above, however it is manufactured on the same equipment that processes products that do contain these allergens. This may result in what is known as “cross-contamination” and hence there could be small amounts of the allergen in a product. Where this is the case, NESTLÉ will state “Made on equipment that also processes products containing ……” following the ingredients list.

This statement, together with the ingredients, list will help you make an informed decision about whether the product is suitable for you. We would always recommend that you check the ingredients list of our products prior to purchase if you have an allergy as we are constantly trying to improve our products and this may result in changes to the ingredients list. Click here to view our current allergen lists.

Q: Does MILO contain caffeine? How does it compare to the amount of caffeine in NESCAFÉ Coffee?
A: MILO contains a small amount of caffeine, as caffeine is a natural component of the cocoa bean. It contains less than 10% of the amount found in a cup of instant coffee. For further information on caffeine and the content in commonly consumed foods and drinks, please refer to our Fact Sheet on caffeine.

Q: What is the quantity of caffeine in your NESCAFÉ decaffeinated coffees?
A: They contain no more than 3mg of caffeine per serve. A standard serve of NESCAFÉ contains on average 62mg of caffeine. For the amount of caffeine in our other NESCAFÉ products, please click here and then onto the nutrition table for each product. For further information on caffeine and the content in commonly consumed foods and drinks, please refer to our Fact Sheet on caffeine.

Q: Is the gelatine used in Nestlé products Halal?
A: The gelatine used in our ALLENS confectionery such as Snakes Alive, Frogs Alive, MINTIES, WONKA confectionery such as REDSKINS and Toffee Apple (with the exception of the WONKA Nerds Rope), and Violet Crumble is halal, however, this does not mean that the product has halal certification. For a full list of halal certified products, please click here

Q: Are any Nestlé products Halal?
A: A number of Nestlé products sold in Australia have been granted halal status. For more information click here.

Q: Are any Nestlé products Kosher?
A: Some Nestlé products are Kosher and these are listed in the Kosher Australia Food Bulletin. If you have any further specific queries, please Contact Us and we will try to assist you.

Q: Which Nestlé products are suitable for a diabetic?
A: As the needs of all diabetics will vary, we do not have a specific list of products that would be suitable. We would always recommend that you consult your health professional who would be able to advise the best products for you. However, if you are interested in products with a low GI, please Click here for a current list of our low GI products. You may also like to visit our Recipes section where you will find a selection of low GI recipes.

Q: Which Nestléé products are suitable for a vegetarian or vegan?
A: Click here to view our current special dietary requirements lists which include a list of products suitable for a lacto-ovo vegetarian and a vegan.

Q: What method do you use to decaffeinate NESCAFÉ coffees?
A: A water decaffeination process is used in the production of NESCAFÉ decaffeinated coffees sold in Australia.

Q: I've heard there is wax in MAGGI noodles, is this true?
A: No, there is no wax used in the manufacture of MAGGI noodles. All the ingredients we use in these products meet strict safety requirements and are approved by local governing regulations.