Sort by
Sort by

Allergy & Dietary Centre - Questions and Answers

Questions and Answers

You can be confident that every batch of Nestlé product labelled ‘gluten free’ has been tested to ensure that there is no detectable gluten.

Wheat, and any ingredient derived from wheat, may appear as an ingredient in some gluten free products and must be labelled in line with Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) food labelling guidelines. 

In instances where a product is labelled ‘gluten free’, the wheat has been refined in such a way that there is no detectable gluten in the product, making the product suitable for those avoiding gluten. This is confirmed by testing on every batch.



Nestlé only labels products ‘gluten free’ for products where every batch of the product is tested for the presence of gluten, and found to be clear.

This means that products that do not contain products that do not contain gluten or are naturally free from gluten will not always be labelled as ‘gluten free’.

People eliminating gluten from their diet should carefully review the ingredients list of all products before consuming. 

When gluten is detectable , the Nestlé summary of allergens will display ‘contains gluten’ in bold type.

It is not always apparent which foods contain gluten as gluten is found in foods containing wheat, rye, oats, barley, triticale, and spelt, as well as in flours and products derived from these raw ingredients. Each of these ingredients need to be avoided in a gluten-free diet. 

Products labelled ‘gluten free’ follow stringent processing guidelines to ensure that gluten free raw materials are not contaminated by gluten-containing foods. 

Less obvious foods which may contain gluten include bran, couscous, semolina, malt, malt extract, malt vinegar, confectionery, sauces, soups, starch, hydrolysed vegetable protein (HVP), natural flavouring, and soy sauce.

Breakfast Bakes NIP

Gluten list


Nestlé includes any allergens in the ingredients list on the product label.

This is in line with Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) food labelling regulations, which require that any product containing an allergen must be labelled as such. All allergens are clearly listed on each product’s ingredient label, to allow consumers with allergies to check the information before purchasing a product. Allergens may vary from product to product. 

Nestlé labels typically display allergens in bold type in the ingredients list. A summary of allergens will also typically be displayed in bold type and start with the word ‘contains’.

MILO DUO Cereal Ingredients


No, lactose free products are made with regular cow’s milk and are not suitable for people with dairy allergies.


Whether or not a person with allergies can consume products with ‘May contain’ or ‘made on equipment that also processes’ labelling is a highly individual one. People with allergies should discuss this with their healthcare professional.

Food labels use ‘may contain’ statements for allergens, such as ‘may contain gluten’ or in some cases ’Made on equipment that also processes products containing gluten’. This ensures that consumers are aware traces of an allergen may be present despite not being within the ingredient list.

People with allergies should take precautionary action for products using ’may contain’ statements as there is an increased risk of the presence of allergens. This could be because the food has been made or packaged in an environment that also processed or packaged an allergen.


Food labels may use ’may contain’ statements when there is an increased risk of the presence of ingredients derived from animals.

This may arise because the food has been processed or packaged in an environment that also processes or packages products that are not suitable for a vegan diet. 

For example, MILO Plant Based Energy is suitable for vegans and has a ‘may contain milk’ statement under the ingredients list. While this product is a dairy alternative and is vegan friendly, as it is made at the same factory as original MILO, it may inadvertently contain milk from the manufacturing line. 

Vegans should take precautionary action for products using ‘may contain animal products’ statements.

Milo plant based pack and ingredient list

Vegan product list